GLYS Eaton Awards

The Bill Eaton Award
Each November GLYS holds its annual fund-raising dinner, the GAYLA.  Beginning in 2005, GLYS has presented the Eaton Award to a WNY high school student (GLBT or a straight ally) who through his/her individual efforts or as part of his/her GSA or diversity club, has helped to make his/her school a safer place for GLBT students.  GSAs that have made a significant difference in their school have also received the award.  The Eaton Award is named for the late Bill Eaton, a WNY GLBT activist, who died of lung cancer in 1998.  To nominate a student from your school, please call (716.855.0221) or email Marvin Henchbarger (Executive Director) at  Nominations can be made at any time.
Past recipients of the Bill Eaton Award:
2005:  Abe Morgan, Grand Island High School
2006:  Francine Caldwell, Newfane Central High School
2007:  The Gowanda High School GSA
2008: The GLBT Support Group & GSA of Niagara Wheatfield High School
2009:  Aden Cook, Grand Island High School
2010:  Justin Gloss, Silver Creek High School
2011:  The Pioneer High School GSA
2012:  Emily Law, Depew High School
2012:  The Oracle Charter High School GSA
2013:  The Sweet Home High School GSA

2013 Eaton Award recipient Oracle Charter School releases
“Oracle Charter High School honored with Bill Eaton Award”
Buffalo, NY – Gay and Lesbian Youth Services (GLYS) has honored Oracle Charter High School with its 2012 Bill Eaton Award for making their school environment safer for students impacted by sexual orientation and gender identity.

Established in 2005, the Bill Eaton Award recognizes either a Gay Straight Alliance (GSA) or student member who helped to make their school a safer place for gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) students. The Eaton Award is named for the late Bill Eaton, a WNY GLBT activist, who died of lung cancer in 1998.

Oracle’s GSA was formed in 2010 with only a handful of students, most of them straight. In less than two years time, membership has grown tenfold and hovers at around 35 students. In fact, Oracle’s GSA is so strong that several GLBT students started attending Oracle this year just because of the safe environment the alliance has helped to create. Alliance members participate in a variety of private and public events, which include everything from movie nights to lectures to campaigns.

“It is a tremendous honor to be recognized for our efforts in changing the homophobic culture that many of our urban youth grow up in,” said Sara Komoroske, Oracle’s GSA advisor. “We pride ourselves in taking steps to offer a safe, welcoming place for everyone; provide support for those who may not find it elsewhere; and to stand up to bullying for those who find it difficult to stand up for themselves.”

Conant/Cox School Ally Award
If you want to recognize your GSA advisor or other teacher/administrator,
give us a call. . . . we can provide a framed certificate!